cindytripp

2-19 Post-blizzard update (from Emily) February 18, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — emilyltripp @ 3:46 pm

Today is day 3 of Cynthia’s rehab schedule, and the first day that I’ve been able to be with her throughout each session. (Our hill at home turned into a solid sheet of ice on Sunday night, so it wasn’t until Tuesday afternoon that James was able to safely get the car down the drive.)

The team here at Southern Hills is allowing me to get involved with her therapy, and let me tell you–it is no picnic. Each moment is challenging, but she is determined as ever. I’ve gotten questions about how long this will take? and, when will she be home? Right now we are not on any kind of time frame at all. Each moment dictates the next. While we are eagerly anticipating bringing her home, it is incredibly important to not rush, to be very deliberate with each step of this process.

For the time being we are going to put a hold on visitors, just until we get the rhythm of each day worked out.

We thank you so much for your encouragement, and for your stories! I’ve loved hearing them more than you can know; keep them coming! Here are a few photos from this weekend of Cynthia with me, Sarah James, and Abigail, and another of Cynthia and her Aunt (who is really more like a sister) Ilona, who came to visit from New Orleans for the week.

Emily

IMG_5548 IMG_5564

 

6 Responses to “2-19 Post-blizzard update (from Emily)”

  1. Sally Delvaux Says:

    Hey Emily, Thank you for keeping in touch!

    Cindy, one thing for sure…you are not missing out on one thing with all of this ice and snow!

    Do you remember our BA middle-school trip when we went antiquing? Every time I look at my dented silver-plated ice bucket, I think of the special time that we all had!

    Also, how much fun we had on our antiquing day in Nashville! I still have the plate that you secretly bought for me that day. It is one of those gifts that you never forget because it was given out of kindness and friendship….Nothing more!

    Have no idea how the years have passed with no more antiquing..most likely work, children, grandchildren….. but when you feel better, we have a date for antiquing!!!!!I

    Love you, my friend!!!! Sally

  2. Alicia Helm Says:

    Thank you for posting and keeping us updated. I am thinking of her daily. We miss her stopping in at Spruce. Let her know that I will set a new handbag aside! She is such a loyal customer and I am so thankful for the relationship!

  3. Cathy Longeway Says:

    Thanks so much for keeping us informed. Cindy and all of you are in our thoughts and prayers.

  4. Rhoda Tripp Says:

    Oh, Emily, thanks for the post and pics. She’s brave, I remember how painful her rehab was after her skiing accident. Mercy, I’m praying. Ilona, thanks so much for helping. Proud of the pictures. Love all of you so much, Mamaw

  5. Peggy Peden Says:

    Thanks for the updates.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. Heidi Kaye Says:

    Hi Emily, Thank you so much for keeping everyone updated. My heart was so happy the other day when I read your previous post. Your mom is in my prayers and thoughts daily. My son, Jacob, had her 2 years in a row and we feel so blessed. She made such an impact on him. Keeping you ALL in prayer, stay strong, Heidi Kaye

    Sent from my iPhone- Heidi Kaye

    >


Leave a Reply

