cindytripp

Cycle 1 Day 8: Good Day October 29, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — cindytripp @ 9:34 pm

Today was the second of four treatments in this initial cycle of the clinical trial. It was a good day—10 AM  to 5PM, no reaction to study drug, and additional pre-meds meant that I slept through most of the treatment! Overall, the drug’s side effects for the last week have been minimal, and I’m feeling okay most of the time. I’m also taking care to get enough rest. Because of the number of people around me who are experiencing flu-like symptoms, I’m wearing a mask at school and anytime I am in public. People think I wear the mask because I’m sick when instead I wear it because they might be sick! I don’t like wearing the mask, but I’m committed to doing whatever it takes to stay healthy for this trial.

My focus is on the immediate present and not thinking beyond the moment. I’m trusting that my time is in His hands and acknowledging that my worrying about what may happen is counterproductive. I’m considering the lilies…

Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. If then God so clothes the grass, which today is in the field and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, how much more will He clothe you, O you of little faith? And do not seek what you should eat or what you should drink, nor have an anxious mind. For all these things the nations of the world seek after, and your Father knows that you need these things. But seek the kingdom of God, and all these things shall be added to you. (Luke 12:27-31, NKJV)

 

6 Responses to “Cycle 1 Day 8: Good Day”

  1. Cathy Longeway Says:

    Cindy,
    I’m glad that things went better for you this time. Have you considered compiling these blog entries to publish a book? You are inspirational to me and I’m not sick. Your scriptures and your thoughts about your experiences are beautiful. It would be a great gift for someone else going through this or for someone who knows another person having this same experience.

  2. delvaux7@comcast.net Says:

    So thankful it was a good day and that you even rested!!! PTL Much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving !!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Susan Williams Says:

    Cindy –
    You continue to be in my prayers, and through this journal you are an encouragement to me! Thank you for being open with the struggles and joys of your journey, for remaining usable in the midst of the difficulties.
    Praying God’s continued peace and perfect healing!
    susan williams

  4. tammyrhayes Says:

    Cindy,
    I am continually amazed at how your scriptures are just what I need to read as well. Thank you for sharing this journey with us! God is using you in every way to bless everyone who reads your blogs. Keeping you in prayer and expecting God’s healing!

    I have also just started “having to blog” for work and our media guy (not sure what his official title is) made us go on this WordPress site to do so for our school. Of course, mine are all about middle school; so thought I would tell you to check it out through this site as you will probably get a kick out of them since for some time now you have been a part of my inspiration when it comes to middle school students and their needs and understanding their weirdness and their wonderfulness and how all of that co-exists!

    Love you much-

  5. lorriej Says:

    Cindy, so glad you have been welcomed into the trial. Sorry about the reaction to the IV drug recently but thankful for such attentive medical staff there. I’m on campus next week and hope to see you. Hugs from Memphis!

  6. Fran Kirkpatrick Says:

    Glad to hear that your side effects have been minimal, and as someone who caught the BA crud, I think the mask is an excellent idea! You are continually in my thoughts and prayers! Take care, Fran


Leave a Reply

