cindytripp

Is a potential end in sight? June 19, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — cindytripp @ 8:26 pm

Maybe…

At my regular every-three-week oncology visit last Friday, my platelet count was so low that I could not have my chemotherapy infusion. Oh no, you say. Oh yes, I said. That meant that I was able to skip that treatment and will discover after my next scheduled CT scans on July 1 if I can stop the chemotherapy completely. If the scans do not show any growth in the tumors, then I should be able to stop the Avastin for as long as the tumors are unchanged.

I feel great. My energy level is up, my pain is significantly reduced, and my mind feels clear and sharp. It’s difficult to remember how I felt a year ago, unless I look at the few pictures from those major chemotherapy days and can see that my eyes convey how rough it was. Thankfully, when I was in the midst of the initial treatment, I was also unaware of how badly I felt. I feel wonderful now, which is very good news indeed.

I am actually very positive about where I am right now. God has protected and prepared the way since I discovered on February 14, 2012, what lay beneath in my lungs. Even knowing that all the tumors have not disappeared, I am confident that my healing is in God’s hands and that He will not leave me or forsake me.

While I know that I am using Paul’s words out of context, his words in Philippians do keep ringing in my heart and mind:

…I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus (Phil. 3:12-14, NIV).

I can’t wait to hear the results on Monday afternoon, July 1. I promise that I’ll let you know!

 

9 Responses to “Is a potential end in sight?”

  1. Allison Says:

    Missin’ you! Glad you are feelin’ well! Lookin’ forward to hearin’!

  2. Fran Kirkpatrick Says:

    What a blessing it is to feel good!

  3. kayce hughes Says:

    So glad to hear your good news.

  4. susan shafer Says:

    Praying continually and grateful for your progress.

  5. Rob DeRossett Says:

    Praise God for His faithfulness and His amazing grace. So happy your a doing and feeling better, Cindy. Love you.

  6. David and Roberta DeRossett Says:

    We are so glad to hear that you are feeling better. We have prayed constantly and fervently for your healing. as so many others have. We won’t give up either.for further healing. But we can also add our thanks to God for getting you through all the bad times and giving you much better days. We will be praying for more good news in July. Love you. David and Berta

  7. Joy Brandon Says:

    I’m so grateful to hear you’re feeling better! I can’t wait to hear what July 1 brings 🙂
    Joy

  8. Sally Delvaux Says:

    Oh, Cindy….I am so thankful to hear this news! Can’t to hear from you July 1! Love you….Sally

  9. Christy Stanga Says:

    Praying for joyful news!!


Leave a Reply

