cindytripp

Good treatment day June 7, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — cindytripp @ 5:32 am

Treatment day was a good day.

Due to unforeseen circumstances, my meeting with the doctor was a bit delayed and so I started chemo at 10 am. All of the drips went very well, exactly on schedule, and I was finished at 2:15. I cannot say enough about the professionalism and expertise of the staff at the Williamson Tower office of Tennessee Oncology. Everyone is attentive and respectful; everyone is on the same team and committed to the patients. While no one likes chemotherapy, the experience is so positive because of this group. Yes, this is my only experience with a chemotherapy office, but it is not my first one with this staff. Both my husband and mother were patients, and our experience has been the same. Working in an oncology office is a special calling, and I am grateful that my family doctor recommended Dr. Pat Murphy. I am sure that if you have also had a cancer experience, you too have tremendous faith in your oncologist. That’s what’s important for all of us—having confidence in our physician and his/her staff and the course of treatment.

The good news from our meeting is this: For the first time, my C-125 cancer marker is in the normal range! It’s 28 (0-35 is normal), which is a clear sign that the treatment is attacking the cancer. When I was diagnosed in mid-February, that number was 585; when I started chemotherapy on April 8 after anti-estrogen treatment, the number was about 175. Gradually, since that time, the number has been dropping. Now it’s normal. Wow, a clear answer to prayer!

The cautionary news from our meeting is this: He will be watching the physical issues I’ve had for the last 10 days, such as coughing, shortness of breath, nausea, and other intestinal issues. I’m going to be calling the office more, taking additional medicines to control the reactions, and having follow-up appointments with him and with another doctor he had me see last week. I know that I need to stay physically as strong as possible so that these last treatments can do their work and I won’t be overcome by the side effects.

As I write this I’m hopeful and confident and encouraged. I am also profoundly grateful that none of this is up to me: “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ” (Phil 1:6).

Next treatment is Wednesday, June 27. I expect that the days between now and June 26 will have challenges and difficulties, but I know that nothing will be too much to bear. Thank you from your prayers for me and my family.

The best way to contact me is email, but I also have been so encouraged by your comments here! What a blessing this cancer has been for me on so many levels—thank you for reminding me of God’s unfailing mercies no matter what the circumstances.

 

One Response to “Good treatment day”

  1. Katherine Nesbitt Says:

    I am praising God right now!!!!! He is so good. The healing power of God is so amazing. I will continue to pray to and praise God for his miraculous works. Have a blessed summer! 🙂


Leave a Reply

