cindytripp

the buzz April 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — cindytripp @ 11:47 am

There’s something about getting a buzz, I guess. Through the years, I’ve seen countless guys shave their heads for spring or summer. Of course, I never thought that I’d willingly do such a thing, but I should never say never.

Image         Image       

Actually, as it turned out, the styling salon—on the patio outside the Dining Hall near the middle school—was perfect. Lots of middle schoolers observed the process and enjoyed the show. Chandler Ganick would wave the clippers at some boys and ask who was next, and they seemed relieved when I told him not to touch a hair on their heads. The entire process took about 5 minutes, and it was done.

Emily went with me to the restroom to change my clothing and to put on my scarf. When I looked in the mirror, however, I was dumbfounded, but I have no explanation for why I was so shocked. My first reaction wasn’t good: “I guess I really do have cancer.” Emily’s response was perfect: “Yes, you do.”

ImageThis is the next part of my life.

Hair is hair, and it will grow back.  I am  determined that this won’t scare me or change how I face each day, although getting ready to face each day won’t actually take as long in the morning now.

I am also excited about having a new way to wear the scarves that I love. I’m going to enjoy this, I think. At least now there isn’t as much hair to fall out.

I can’t express how much hearing from people has meant to me. Cards, notes, emails, comments, visits, flowers, food, treats—I read and remember and am so grateful. I love to write notes, but right now I can’t respond as I want; I will. Until then, please know that your prayers and support remind me each moment of God’s faithfulness.

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus….May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.” 1 Thessalonians 16-18; 23-24

 

8 Responses to “the buzz”

  1. Julie Knestrick Says:

    Cindy,
    My mom had a CT scan in February (after a year of chemo), and the tech said, “Has anyone told you that you have a little cancer?” She was completely shocked that he would blurt out such a thing, but that’s what made it so funny. And, on days she felt bad, she would say, “I think I have a little cancer.” I’m so grateful as I read your posts that you can see God’s hand and faithfulness in the details. Chemo stinks. I pray that your side effects are minimal, that you can eat and sleep and feel well enough to enjoy the sunshine. Love from all the Knestricks.

  2. Sheila and Steve Priest Says:

    I love that bible verse. The Priest family continues to pray for you and I so love and admire your openness to share your praises and prayers. God is good!!!!!!!

  3. Mary Sturgeon Says:

    Cindy,
    You have been in my daily thought and prayers since James called Jon weeks ago.
    I think you look fantastid with your scarf. You have that special sparkle in your eyes. Please know that Jon, Abbey and I pray for you daily.
    Love,
    Mary

  4. ted morrison jnr Says:

    your strength is truly electric.
    as you know, Emiily is a dear friend of mine, and we spent many hours talking about our mothers during our time together. we listened to music and drank whiskey and talked about absolutely everything. when my mother came to see me in Nashville, in between chemotherapy treatments, i made sure to take her to the restaurant where i worked with Emily and introduce the two of them, these two gorgeous, strong women in my life who knew everything about me and loved be all the same. shortly thereafter, you came into the restaurant and Emily introduced us. i remember i was actually quite nervous, because i knew you were brilliant and suffered no fools, and because i really couldn’t remember the last time i really wanted someone to like me. you may or may not remember meeting me, and either way, it is insignificant in the scheme of things, but being close with Emily and then meeting the person who shaped her ideals and intellect, not to mention sense of style and pure, unadulterated, seemingly unintentional sensuality and depth of emotion was truly a gift.
    my mother still has cancer, and in fact, her doctors have told her it is going to kill her in the next year or so. i am living in southern florida now and visiting the ocean often to get a better sense of perspective, to explore my own meaning of life and death at the turbulent shore, to, metaphorically and literally put it—-get my feet wet. i have kept in touch with Emily and have many friends who support, know and love me truly and fully. i know that my mother’s journey is her own, and the best i can do is to help see her through it, depending upon the guidance and wisdom of a loving God.
    i know for certain that a heart beating does not signify a spirit living, that we are all always, forever. this is what love has taught me.
    i salute you and your courage, your electric strength…i look forward to reading your stories.

  5. Dana Edwards Nolan Says:

    Mrs. Tripp,
    I remember when I gave my mom her “buzz” in 2010! That is possibly one of the hardest things I have ever had to do! Mom was a trooper and just happy not to be getting hair in her mouth anymore from where it was falling out! Trust me when I say that this was one of the toughest parts of the whole journey! I know that probably does not make sense to everyone. I can tell you that, in time, my mom grew to love her short haircut–especially in the Tennessee heat of summer! I hope that you find, too, that this early stuff is the rough part–the diagnosis, the shock, and the haircut! There is so much love at the chemo center, and the love of brothers and sisters in Christ and from God himself is such an awe-inspiring thing! I’m so glad you have this wonderful support system around you, and I’ll pray for the day when you can, like my mom, hear the words, “We can’t find any sign of the cancer….” Much love from here! 🙂

  6. Susan, Abigail, and Hannah Says:

    You are beautiful and brave and brilliant! Love the scarf but mostly love your steadfast commitment to not let the cancer win. We continue to pray and believe God knows what is best.

  7. Christy Stanga Says:

    You look lovely!

  8. Karen Smith Says:

    Cindy,
    You have been in my thoughts and prayers and I just happened to check your blog right as your Buzz post popped up! Looks like Chandler thoroughly enjoyed his work as your personal barber! Sid has clippers and plenty of experience buzzing from doing the boys and their friends- so I’ll volunteer him if you need a back up barber! Love the scarf- and your smile. I know God will continue to walk alongside you as you make this journey- and carry you on the days the path gets rough. You are surrounded by so many who love you, thank God for you- and will lift you up before the Father- entrusting you to His care. Get after this cancer just like you had to get after my boys back in the BA days! So thankful for you- and know we are praying for you, your family and your doctors.

    With Love and Blessings, Karen Smith


Leave a Reply

