cindytripp

Chemotherapy April 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — cindytripp @ 8:44 pm

I begin chemotherapy in the morning. In the last week, I have been increasingly short of breath, exhausted, and coughing a lot more frequently. At my oncology appointment today, my doctor was concerned. A baseline CT scan of my chest revealed that the anti-estrogen treatment has produced a mixed reaction: some cells have shrunk, and some are still growing.

It’s time for chemotherapy. I begin tomorrow, Friday, April 6. I have a treatment every three weeks for six cycles. Of course, I am a bit nervous; I’d be crazy not to be. At the same time, I am confident that this is the next step.

I have NO idea what’s ahead. I listened to the side effects that the oncology nurse described, and tonight I’ll read the patient manual that she gave me. I’ll read through the events of Easter week as a fresh reminder that God’s plans include the unimaginable and that the Resurrection is real and personal.

God’s timing is perfect. I know that He who began a good work in me will carry it on to completion in the day of Christ Jesus.

I am blessed by your prayers and by your love for me and my family.

Game on. I’m ready. Emily thought this photo was appropriate for what lies ahead. All I know is that it made me laugh, which is probably the best thing that could happen the night before chemotherapy begins.

 

13 Responses to “Chemotherapy”

  1. Amanda Butler Says:

    Praying for you! Charge on!

  2. Joy Brandon Says:

    How appropriate to see that precious face being so fierce! It’s time for that , isn’t it? I’m grateful you know the fierce love of our heavenly Father, and his presence with you all the way 🙂

    Still praying, Joy.

  3. Hyatt Sutton Says:

    We’re with you!!!

  4. Katherine Nesbitt Says:

    Mrs. Tripp,
    You have blessed us so very much at BA. We are all praying for you, and I know that God has a plan through ALL of this. 🙂
    “What if your blessings come through rain drops? What if your healing comes through tears? What if one thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know you’re near? What if trials of this life are your mercies in disguise?” – Laura Story “Blessings”

    Love,
    Katherine N.

  5. Katie Says:

    Cute photo. Reminds me of little Abigail. Cindy, with your faith in the Lord, I know you will do well. I am still praying and still believing that you are gonna beat this. There is also another treatment plan in your future to help speed things along and that is “Abigail”. Also, you have your family and friends by your side as well. I do love you dearly and if you need me for anything, please call.

  6. Elaine Jackson Says:

    How appropriate that at the dawn of our Christ’s resurrection that you begin a new journey. God bless you. Uphold your strong faith. God is right there with you and we are too!!

  7. kim hill Says:

    we will continue to pray and hold you up! love the pic, actually saw it yesterday on twitter:)
    you are loved and adored by many…… but mostly by Him.
    May this Easter weekend be an amazing reminder that HE does ABOVE and BEYOND what
    we can ask or think!! Love, Kim, Graham and Benji

  8. caroline archer Says:

    I’m praying for you so so much! Keep the smile that I love to see everyday!!!
    “A joyful heart is good medicine.”
    Proverbs 17:22

  9. Cathy Longeway Says:

    Where are you getting your chemo and what chemo are they giving you?

    • cindytripp Says:

      Williamson Tower…Tennessee Oncology

      Taxol, Carboplatin, Avastin

      • Cathy Longeway Says:

        Best of luck – love the short haircut (I’m partial to those anyway). Thanks for the updates. You are in my thoughts and prayers every day. There are LOTS of cancer SURVIVORS out there!!!

  10. Rhonda Smith Says:

    Cindy,
    We continue to pray for you sister! What a road to walk, but you have warriors all around you. We appreciate the post because it helps us pray specifically for the immediate need. Blessings, Rhonda Smith

  11. Susan Shafer Says:

    LOVE the photo and love your reminder of God’s perfect plan—even in our suffering, He intends for our good and His glory! That is the Easter story!!! You are a warrior and Christ is your champion! Watch out cancer!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

