cindytripp

A difficult week February 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — cindytripp @ 2:45 am
Tags:

I found out on Friday 2/17 that I have advanced lung cancer (stage 4 of 4). I’ve never smoked or lived with smoking, but I’ve learned that 15% of lung cancers are diagnosed in non-smokers like me. Recently I’ve been sick with a cough (the same kind I’ve had all of my life, or so I thought), but it was only this last Tuesday that a painful lump appeared on the side of my neck. On Wednesday and Thursday there were several tests, which resulted in the difficult news on Friday afternoon.

My oncologist said that there’s a 95% chance based on the preliminary pathology that it’s advanced lung cancer. Next Friday 2/24  (earliest appt) I’ll have other tests to determine if the cancer has spread anywhere else, so I guess that means the best-case scenario right now is that it’s just stage 4 lung cancer. The plan is for an aggressive treatment, including clinical trials, but exact details will wait on more pathology and the results of the scans at the end of this next week.

My mind and heart are still numb, and shock is a mild term to describe how my family and I are feeling. Right now I am clinging to my faith that my days are ordained by the One who loves me and holds me close and who will never leave me or forsake me. I don’t know what’s ahead, but I know I am not alone.

What can you do?
1. Pray that my family and I will not be afraid but will rest in God’s mercy and grace.
2. Know how much I love being a part of the Brentwood Academy family and my community of friends.
3. Allow me to continue to work on projects and details as I can. I won’t overdo, but I need to be involved because doing so keeps the fear away. Continue sending me stuff and asking me questions and allowing me to be a part of school life and your life. I’ll let you know when I can’t do something.
4. Believe me when I promise that I will not try to do this alone and that I acknowledge that I need you. Respond to me however you want because you will help me hold tightly to God’s provision in the midst of this true storm.

 

15 Responses to “A difficult week”

  1. Mary Johnson Says:

    Hey Cindy, MaryLee called me with the terrible news. From that moment you have been my thoughts and prayers every moment of my day/night–you are first in my prayers after my precious family–even they are praying for you. I have a special card I am sending to you–I am Catholic and I have great devotion to our Blessed Virgin,Mary, and I really believe prayer gets us through this cruel world. I believe God answers all prayers in time but maybe Our Lady Mary will can push our requests through faster. If there is anything, absolute anything, please call on Don and I . Please tell your girls Sarah James and Emily to call on us for anything–driving to doctor visits, chemo/radiation treatments, makeover after chemo visits–took Barbara S a few times. I know you have talked to Barbara, she had breast first then year later found in lungs–was told lung was main sight–participated in Dr. Tony Greco’s experiment. Barbara will really be with you and she will be a great shoulder to lean on and will give you strength (she is really is a strong lady, she loves you greatly)–too many “and” please forgive English teacher!!!!!! I guess I am rambling too much but I really care greatly for the teachers at BA when I was there and their kindness toward me, which ,of course, includes you. Please believe God does not give His children more than we can handle.
    God bless you and your family. Love, Mary & Don Johnson

  2. Karen Williams Says:

    Hey cindy!! Just found out. I want you to know that you and your family will be lifted up in prayer by me, jody and ed!! You are a huge part of our past and because of that will always be part of our future. I always loved running into you at wierd places like, Target, and catching you up on ed. We love you Cindy, and are blessed to have you in our lives. God is in control and good things will happen. Karen Williams

  3. Debra Weldon Says:

    Cindy, I had hoped this was not true when Sommer Grace first saw it on Facebook. And we started praying for you then. So let me tell you that you mean so much to Sommer Grace and I and you are one of the most special teachers we have had, yes we. When you teach my child you teach me too. And I have really appreciated how you have been so strong in times of adversity helping your students in tough situations. I will always be thankful. I am a survivor and you will be too. You will be surprised at what you can accomplish just by putting one foot in front of the other and doing what your doctors say. Do not be afraid. Let God take care of that for you. I pray you will find joy in everyday. We will be praying for you around the clock for God to meet all your needs and for 100% healing. WIth much love, Debra Weldon

  4. Kelsey Tunney Bohler Says:

    Mrs. Tripp,

    My heart is so heavy for you all this morning, and I will be lifting you and your family up all throughout the day in prayer. I was just telling my mom last month how because of you I can still name all 52 prepositions in alphabetical order, and we were reflecting on what a wonderful teacher you are. He sees, he knows, and he cares.

    Kelsey

  5. ginny elder Says:

    mrs tripp. i am mary capers elder’s mom. we think the world of you and will be praying fervently for you. you have impact more people than you could ever know. when i tell people my daughter is at brentwood academy, they first ask if she’s had mrs. tripp. our prayers are with you and we pray God gives you comfort and stamina and strength for what you are going through.
    ginny elder

  6. Whitney Tunney Newby Says:

    Mrs. Tripp,

    I just heard the news and wanted you to know I am fervently praying for you… For peace, for comfort, for mercy, and for a miracle. I’m thankful for our God who knows and sees and isn’t surprised by anything. My husband and I will continue to seek Him on your behalf.
    Blessings,
    Whitney

  7. Wes Boling Says:

    Mrs. Tripp,

    Your strength, grace and confidence inspired me back in sixth grade, and I suspect they’ll come in handy now. I’m praying that God will give you the power you need to fight this disease and come out stronger than you started. I believe in you, but more importantly, I believe in God’s amazing power. My family is praying.

  8. Jenny H. Valle Says:

    Mrs. Tripp-
    I am so sorry to hear this devastating news. I will be praying for peace for each one of you as you go through the days ahead. I will also pray that your team of doctors will be blessed with clarity and wisdom as they determine your course of treatment. For now, just rest in the arms of Jesus as He is the one true Comforter. He will take care of you each step of the way. Lots of love to all of you, Jenny

  9. Christy Bledsoe Says:

    Aunt Cindy I love you so much and will be praying for you during this difficult time. I know James and the girls will be a great support for you.

  10. Melinda Says:

    Cindy, I love you, too! I am so sorry for this hard news. We will be praying for you—for James and all the girls. From Psalm 18: “I love you, O Lord, my strength. THE LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Melinda Speece

  11. candy manning Says:

    My dearest sister, my heart goes out to you and your family. I know your faith and it will stand the trial facing you as you are put to the test yet one more time. Know that I love you so very much and wish I could be with you and go to every doctor’s appt with you..Know that i am with you in spirit and every time, you close your eyes, see me. We do serve a miracle working God and I am believing for a miracle for you. Call anytime time, day or night. I want to be there for you my dear one. I love you so much. cm

  12. Connie Thurman Says:

    Sweet Cindy, I am so very sorry. Please know that we will be praying earnestly in the days and weeks ahead for all of you. Not only will our precious Lord be with you every step of the way, but your friends will be there for you as well. You have touched so many lives over the years in so many different ways and you are well loved. I know you know that! Love always, Connie

  13. I will be praying for you and your family during this incredibly difficult time… I’ll be praying this verse over you and your family:
    “For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence,
    for my hope is from him.” —Psalm 62:5

  14. Karen Storey Says:

    Cindy

    Carl and I will be praying for you during these difficult days. We love you..Karen

  15. Carrie Causey Says:

    I love you, Cindy, and Wayne and I are praying for you and your family. Thank you for sharing the difficult news.


Leave a Reply

